Who am I?

Hello! My name is Claudia. I am newly married and now a mother of five (instead of two). I have recently changed my entire life from becoming a wife, quitting two jobs, moving away, finishing my Masters degree this semester, and reinventing who I am. I am a Netflix junkie and use to be an avid reader until a few years ago. Life got too busy and I forgot how much I loved reading. Recently I started again, and I am hopeful that this class and my other literature class will give me an opportunity to bring that love of reading back into my life.

When it comes to reading, I am a “wild reader”. I have genres or styles that I like but am willing to try new things all the time. Thankfully my two children (18 and 14 years) have the same passion for reading that I do. We share books and have discussions about them on a regular basis. My new step-children (10, 14, and 18 years) are not readers as much, but having a librarian step-mom is already changing that.

Some of my favorite authors are Koontz, Rowling, Condie, Kidd, and Sparks. My favorite books of all time are Harry Potter and Wizard of Oz. I tend to gravitate toward young adult literature because of sharing with my children. I will try new authors and genres though. I recently read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. It was an inspirational and heartbreaking story.

I look forward to learning from this class and all of you. Sharing books and authors has always made for the most interesting finds.

Leave a comment